YLW leadership team

Kelowna International Airport (YLW) is the largest municipally owned airport in Canada. YLW has been operated by the City of Kelowna since its inception in 1946.

The Airport Director is an officer of the City, and has overall responsibility for airport management and operations. City Council ultimately makes the final decisions concerning airport management and operations.

Kelowna City Council

Current Kelowna City Council

The City of Kelowna is governed by an elected Council comprised of a Mayor and eight Councillors. Councillors are elected for four-year terms and each member represents the city at large.

Mayor: Colin Basran

Councillors: Maxine DeHart, Ryan Donn, Gail Given, Charlie Hodge, Brad Sieben, Mohini Singh, Luke Stack, and Loyal Wooldridge.

Airport Advisory Committee

Airport Advisory Committee

The Airport Advisory Committee is a standing committee of Kelowna City Council, established to ensure participation from local business and community interests within the region serviced by the airport. The committee makes recommendations to council regarding airport operations and development. Committee members are appointed by Kelowna City Council, councils representing other local governments in the airport region, and various community and business groups. Committee members serve for four-year terms coinciding with the term of office for council members.

Airport Management Team

Sam Samaddar head shot Sam Samaddar
 Airport Director
 Phone: 250-807-4301
 Email: ssamaddar@kelowna.ca

Shayne Dyrdal head shotShayne Dyrdal
Senior Manager, Airport Finance & Corporate Services 
Phone: 250-807-4303
Email: sdyrdal@kelowna.ca

Phillip Elchitz head shotPhillip Elchitz
Senior Manager, Airport Operations
Phone: 250-807-4304
Email: pelchitz@kelowna.ca

Geoff Ritchie head shotGeoff Ritchie
Senior Manager, Airport Development
Phone: 250-807-4308
Email: gritchie@kelowna.ca

Neil Drachenberg head shot

Neil Drachenberg
Airport Safety & Security Manager
Phone: 250-807-4306
Email: ndrachenberg@kelowna.ca

James Hall head shotJames Hall
Airport Operations Manager
Phone: 250-807-4305
Email: jhall@kelowna.ca

Toni McQueenie
Airport Corporate Services Manager
Phone: 250-807-4310
Email: tmcqueenie@kelowna.ca

Mark Stella head shotMark Stella
Emergency Services & Operations Manager
Phone: 250-807-4318
Email: mstella@kelowna.ca

Chad Munchinsky head shotChad Munchinsky
Airport Business Development & Community Relations Manager
Phone: 250-807-4309
Email: cmunchinsky@kelowna.ca

Joe Yakimchuk head shotJoe Yakimchuk
Airport Project Manager
Phone: 250-807-4322
Email: jyakimchuk@kelowna.ca

Lori Seeman head shotLori Seemann
Airport Duty Manager
Phone: 250-807-4321
Email: lseemann@kelowna.ca

Jeff Monk head shotJeff Monk
Airport Duty Manager
Phone: 250-807-4321
Email: jmonk@kelowna.ca
For YLW media inquiries, please call 250-317-0579.